At Heaton Nursery we follow the Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) which covers children’s development and learning from birth to 5 years. The EYFS is designed to deliver improved outcomes for all children, across every area of learning and development.

As an extra addition to the curriculum, children at Heaton Nursery participate in French and English lessons, and also Dance and movement classes, and they are taken out on visits  and short walks throughout the year so that they can explore all different kinds of weather. We love to involve our parents through regular parents’ social evenings, at these events you will meet with your child’s key person who will talk to you about your child’s development.

You can view the development matters guidance and seek advice at the department for education and schools website

Once the children reach their pre-school year a curriculum is carefully planned and designed to encourage each child to work towards the Early Learning Goals. The goals are organised into seven areas of learning.

The seven areas of learning are split into two sections,

There is the 3 prime areas:

• Communication and Language

• Physical development

• Personal, Social and Emotional development

and the specific areas,

which are:

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the world

• Expressive Arts and Design 

Together they provide opportunities to address important aspects of children's spiritual, moral, social and cultural development. We recognise that all children develop and progress at different rates and regular observation and assessment of work and meetings with parents enable us to establish each child's current achievements and abilities.

Thursday the 22nd - . Hello?